The Honor of the Heisman Trophy

Following the 2017 regular season of college football, Oklahoma’s Quarterback Baker Mayfield was honored as the nation’s best player and recipient of the Heisman Trophy. He joined a long list of some of the biggest names in the history of college football, and immortalized himself as one of the elite players in the country. He would go on to be the first pick in the NFL draft the following year for the Cleveland Browns, but it all started when we won the trophy. The Heisman has been given out every year since 1935, and is the highest honor that any college football player can receive.[dcl=6319] to find out more.

The Man behind the Trophy

The trophy was named after innovative coach John Heisman. Heisman has been credited as being the inventor of many of the things you see in football today, including the forward pass, and was the field general for the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets from 1904-1919. His team once defeated Cumberland College 222-0 in the most lopsided win in the history of the fame. Because of everything that he contributed, it is fitting that the highest honor for an individual athlete in college is named after him.[dcl=6319] here.

An Exclusive Club

Some of the biggest names in the history of college football have won the Heisman Trophy. This includes names like Roger Staubach, Bo Jackson, OJ Simpson, Cam Newton, and Tim Tebow. There has only been one defensive player to win the award, Michigan’s Charles Woodson in 1997, and only one player to win the award twice, Ohio State’s Archie Griffin in 1974 and 1975.

There have only been 80 men to receive the award, so anyone that is lucky enough to be recognized as a Heisman winner joins a very exclusive club. Merchandise for the player becomes much more sought after once they win the award, and the player becomes a household name for any sports fan in the country.[dcl=6319]


No Comments

Leave a Comment